About a week ago, I was sitting on my bed doing what my mother refers to as “wasting my life and my potential”. In reality, I was scrolling through the feed of one of my favorite feminist Instagram pages known as Feminist Voice. As I was scrolling I stumbled upon this particular post that read:

fullsizerender

As I read this I couldn’t help but completely agree with the two people in the text post. As a person who has moved a lot in their life, I understand the difficulty of making and maintaining friendships. On the other hand as a minority, I also understand the impact that others opinions and words can have on the people surrounding them. I wholeheartedly agree with the two people who posted the comments. Comparing political views to other opinions, like enjoying coffee, just don’t work. That’s because whether you like coffee or not doesn’t threaten another person’s livelihood.  A person’s political views aren’t just their opinions, they reflect who they are as a person. Whether they believe in the rights of all or not. Whether they want others to secure the happiness that they have for themselves.

I, personally would not mind losing a friend over our political disputes. Growing up my parents always taught me that one of the most important things a person can have is confidence. Confidence in what they believe in, and confidence in who they are.

In my fifteen years of life, I have been exposed to many different types of people. Those places I moved to over the years were also highly populated with Caucasians. When my friends and I were younger we never really discussed our political opinions. Though I know for a fact that many of the people that I lived with in Ohio were republicans. Looking back now I know that if I had stayed in Ohio I would have most likely lost a large majority of my friends…and I’m okay with that. What I believe in is one of the most important things to me and I always try to keep an open mind. However, keeping an open mind doesn’t mean accepting the fact that those who call themselves my “friends” don’t agree with the liberation of minorities. That they don’t believe that those who are different than them deserve happiness because their happiness looks a little different. Since I am a minority myself, it would feel as if they were not only attacking my brothers and sisters, but also me. That is not what I look for in a friendship. In friendships, people are supposed to be supportive and accepting of each other. So if my “friend” doesn’t agree with me politically then they are not being supportive of me and my beliefs meaning that our friendship would have never lasted.
I know many people who have ended friendships and relationships because of politics. Those same people have told me that now they have this new sense of freedom and they can finally meet someone who respects them and agrees with their opinions. Some might say that they are being rude or selfish, and others might be supportive. In the end, it really is your choice.

Leave a Reply

