Hidden Figures the movie debuted on December 25, 2016. Not only is the movie based off of a book, but also of the lives of Katherine Johnson, Dorothy Vaughn, and Mary Jackson. Set in the early 1960’s, the story follows these three brilliant African-American women at NASA who served as the brains behind the launch of astronaut John Glenn. Not only is the movie humorous with many comedic moments, but it also expertly depicts the lives and treatment of African-Americans in that time. However, these women showed that despite the difficulties they faced every day nothing was going to keep them from achieving their dreams.

Watching this movie, for me, wasn’t like any other. I would best describe the feelings that churned in me as those I felt when reading and watching The Help. Both those stories depicted black women in the age of segregation, standing tall and proud of the color of their skin and of being women. I myself, being a black woman, was able to easily connect with the characters. Their strong personalities and passion for their work were clearly depicted by the actors and the struggles they experienced were also shown articulately by the director. For all these reasons and much more, it isn’t a wonder as to why the movie has become exceedingly popular.

I feel that this movie has come out at a very important time. The story itself is not well known by many, strictly for the reason that it was about three black women. Though with the rising tide of black female empowerment, the story fits perfectly into the movement. It debuted at a fragile time, showing that despite lacking recognition black women have contributed to crucial parts of American and world history. The story itself was empowering. These women worked to push against the tide of oppression, to support themselves and their families. They made me feel empowered and that I could do anything that I put my mind to. They really inspired me with the way they fought against those who didn’t believe in them. They showed that even if you are black, colored, or a women that it shouldn’t stop you from achieving your dreams. I learned from this movie that in the end, doubt in yourself and doubt in your abilities are the only things keeping you from success. Hard work and drive are what matter in the end, and you only go as far as you can dream. This movie taught me these things and much more, and I feel that it’s going to be a movie that will inspire many young girls in the years to come.

Leave a Reply

