The Women’s March on January 21, 2017, was recorded as one of the largest if not the biggest protests in US history. With over 4 million attendees across 600 cities in America, it’s not hard to see why. However, the protesting was not limited to the US. From the Canada to the UK and even to Antarctica, millions upon millions of men, women, children, and everyone in between marched in solidarity to show those around the world that they were not alone and that they would continuously fight for them and their rights.

I myself went to the march and I can say that it was by far the best decision that I had ever made. No matter how tired I was due to waking up at 6 a.m. on a Saturday, and no matter how much my feet hurt, I would do it all over again. Before the march, I prided myself on the fact that I was an activist. I felt that many of those around me knew of my strong beliefs. However, despite the fact that I said I was an activist and was outspoken about my beliefs at school, I never went out of my way to act upon my words. Going to the march was a wonderful beginning to my activism. It allowed me to meet so many different people of all different’ ages of whom I wouldn’t have ever encountered otherwise. For many people this march was their first, however of all those people I talked to, every single one of them said that they would be going to as many marches and protests as they could from that moment on.

As it just so happens on January 27, 2017, President Trump signed an executive order titled “Protection Of The Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into The United States”. To put it simply this executive order “indefinitely suspended Syrian refugees and limits the flow of other refugees into the United States”. This order bans all persons from “terror-prone” countries from entering the US. The specific countries listed in the executive order were Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. As one can imagine this executive order was met with great defiance. Immediately protests started popping up at some of the largest international airports in America. From LAX to JFK  thousands of people showed up to protest what had been coined the “Muslim Ban”. Not only were people protesting the Muslim Ban, but many brought up the topic of Trump’s “wall”. All across the country, there were posters adorning the words “No Ban No Wall”.

For the following weeks, there were many more protest the sprung up across the country all fighting against some ridiculous thing that the President and his administration had said, did, signed, or tweeted. Many of these marches weren’t planned, they just came to be, and it’s truly wonderful. It’s the resilience of these people that will make the next four years somewhat manageable. From the comedians at SNL to those standing in the blistering cold and those continuously calling their representatives, it’s these types of activism and many more that show the President and his administration that true American values are not keeping immigrants and refugees out, but inviting them in and giving them a safe and comforting place where they won’t be judged or persecuted. It’s our job as true Americans to show that our values are not defined by a racist, homophobic, xenophobic, cis white male. It’s our job to spread love and peace to those who greatly deserve it.

Leave a Reply

